About Us

District Profile

Harris County Water Control and Improvement District No. 89, a political subdivision of the State of Texas, was created by the Texas Water Commission and operates pursuant to Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code, as amended. The District is located in Harris County approximately 10 miles south of the central business district of the City of Houston, Texas and 7 miles south of the Texas Medical Center. The District is located generally 1 mile east of the intersection of State Highway 288 and South Beltway 8. South Beltway 8 bisects the District. The District is bounded generally on the north by Shurmier Road, Fellows Road on the south, Cullen Boulevard on the east and Furman Street to the west.

The District, as it was originally created, included approximately 514 acres. Since its creation, the District has annexed certain tracts of land; the District currently includes approximately 874 acres, which contains the Morningside Place, Brunswick Lakes, and Brunswick Meadows subdivisions (which total approximately 478 acres), as well as approximately 147 acres of developed and partially improved commercial and multi-family building development. Additionally, the District includes approximately 4 acres of developable land that remain to be developed and 245 acres that are undevelopable. The District presently has 2,740 completed homes, 0 homes under construction, and 10 vacant developed lots.

District Map

Board Members

Board members ensure the District is staffed appropriately, well maintained, meets all state and federal requirements and is prepared to serve the current and future needs of the community.

The District is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of five (5) Board members elected by the registered voters of the District, who manage and supervise all affairs of the District. Board members must either own property within the District or be a registered voter within the District. Each Board member is elected to serve a staggered four (4) year term. The District’s current Board members are as follows:

Michael C. Smith
Michael C. SmithPresident
Term Expires: November 2026
Abdullah K. Babers
Abdullah K. BabersVice-President
Term Expires: November 2024
Tahir Charles
Tahir CharlesSecretary
Term Expires: November 2026
Paige Smith
Paige SmithAsst. Secretary
Term Expires: November 2024
Sharyn Foston Smalls
Sharyn Foston SmallsDirector
Term Expires: November 2024

District Contact Information:

  • Name of Political Subdivision: Harris County Water Control and Improvement District No. 89
  • Mailing Address: c/o Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP, 1550 Lamar Street, Suite 2000, Houston, Texas 77010
  • Phone: (713) 651-5608
  • Email: kaitlyn.malek@nortonrosefulbright.com

District Administration Building Contact

District Building Address

  • Harris County WCID 89
    3455 Fellows Road
    Houston, Texas 77047



Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP
1550 Lamar Street, Suite 2000
Houston, Texas 77010

Attorney: Reginald Wilson
Paralegal: Kaitlyn Malek
Phone: (713) 651-5608


Si Environmental, LLC
6420 Reading Rd
Rosenberg, TX 77471

Contact: Laney Brown
Phone: (832) 490-1600


Artesian Financial Services
Contact: Lisa Rickert
Phone: (281) 469-2524

Financial Advisor

The GMS Group
5075 Westheimer Rd #1175
Houston, TX 77056

Contact: John Howell
Phone: (713) 622-7620


MK Engineering
Contact: Matt Kelley
Phone: (346) 326-0123

Tax Assessor/Collector

Wheeler & Associates
6935 Barney Road, Suite 110
Houston, TX 77092

Contact: Isabel Mata
Phone: (713) 934-3186


McCall Gibson Swedlund Barfoot PLLC
13100 Wortham Center Drive, Ste. 235
Houston, TX 77065

Contact: Noel Barfoot
Phone: (713) 462-0341

Web Design/Communications

Infinity Services, LLC
23501 Cinco Ranch Blvd., Suite H120-330
Katy, TX 77494
Contact: Allen DeJonge
Phone: (573) 268-9577